2021 Cricket Celebration Bowl on ABC Saturday Dec.18th @ 12noon – South Carolina State vs. Jackson State

by | Dec 16, 2021

Celebration Bowl on ABC Saturday Dec.18th @ 12noon – South Carolina State vs. Jackson State

Written by:  Tony Pearl

Beginning in 2015, the MEAC and SWAC face off in a postseason football clash known as the Celebration Bowl.

Jackson State (11-1), the SWAC champion, will face Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference winner South Carolina State (6-5) in the sixth annual Cricket Wireless Celebration Bowl on Saturday in Atlanta.

Who gets a bid to play for the Celebration Bowl?

The winner of the SWAC championship game gets one bid to the Celebration Bowl and the MEAC regular-season champion gets the other.

The game is played inside the Mercedes Benz Stadium in Atlanta, Georgia.

Since it’s inception The MEAC leads the SWAC in the all-time series. Former MEAC school member, North Carolina A&T, has the most Celebration Bowl victories with four.

When, where to watch?

If you weren’t one of the lucky fans who purchased a ticket for this sold out match up, no worries you can watch the game live across the ABC network and live stream.

Game time: Saturday, Dec. 18 at 11 a.m. CT


Mark Jones, Robert Griffin III, Jay Walker, Quint Kessenich and Tiffany Greene are expected to call the Celebration Bowl.

Live stream: ESPN+


Head Coaches / Records  –

South Carolina State: Oliver “Buddy” Pough (142-79, 20 seasons), 18 MEAC titles.  

Jackson State: Deion Sanders (15-4, including one forfeit, two seasons)  This season Sanders was named the FCS coach of the year in winning the Stats Perform Eddie Robinson Award.

Top players to watch in the 2021 Celebration Bowl

South Carolina State

  • QB Corey Fields Jr.
  • RB Kendrell Flowers
  • DL Jablonski Green
  • LB Chad Gilchrist
  • LB BJ Davis
  • CB Decobie Durant
  • DB Zafir Kelly

Former walk on CB Decobie Durant is the MEAC defensive player of the year.  He led the MEAC with 14 passes defended, and tied for second with three interceptions.

Jackson State

  • QB Shedeur Sanders
  • WR Keith Corbin III
  • DL James Houston
  • DL Antwan Owens
  • LB Aubrey Miller
  • LB Keonte Hampton
  • S Shilo Sanders
  • RS Isaiah Bolden

Quarterback Shedeur Sanders won the 2021 Jerry Rice Award as the top freshman in the FCS.